My Edinburgh #1 – Ross Sutherland’s Comedian Dies in the Middle of a Joke

My Edinburgh #1
Ross Sutherland – A Comedian dies in the middle of a joke

Separated at the start from my trusty notebook I was immediately required to sneeze (loudly). Later I would write a suicide note, ask for a mint and die horribly on stage. Ross Sutherland’s ‘A Comedian Dies in the middle of a joke’ is part stand-up, part game, part murder mystery, part performance. At first I found myself thinking the piece was more reminiscent of Sutherland’s work in games (with the likes of Hide and Seek) but it’s ABA format kept throwing up moments of sometimes hilarious sometimes heart stopping accidental poetry.

I use the phrase accidental poetry deliberately. During the festival Ross could also be found within the pages of Forest Fringe’s Paper Stages where he instigated the Accidental Poetry hotline (07719446025) where you could (and probably still can) leave your own examples of accidental poetry. Not prepared to leave it at that Ross also launched his new poetry collection at the fringe– Emergency Window (published by Penned in the Margins and reviewed here) and available here.

Regardless of how accidentally poetic A Comedian Dies in the Middle of a Joke is – I found it a subtly clever piece of storytelling whose nuances are defined by the audience in its telling and re-telling. Above all though it’s great fun! And once again I died on stage!

8 thoughts on “My Edinburgh #1 – Ross Sutherland’s Comedian Dies in the Middle of a Joke

  1. Pingback: Shirts, tweets and a sense of place – another set of Friday musings « Matthew Linley’s Blog

  2. Pingback: My Edinburgh #3 Kate Daisy Grant (with Nick Pynn) « Matthew Linley’s Blog

  3. Pingback: Matthew Linley’s Blog

  4. Pingback: My Edinburgh #5 – Curious Directive « Matthew Linley’s Blog

  5. Pingback: My Edinburgh #6 What I heard about the World « Matthew Linley’s Blog

  6. Pingback: my Edinburgh #7 – Rash Dash The Ugly Sisters « Matthew Linley’s Blog

  7. Pingback: My Edinburgh #8 – Molly and Me « Matthew Linley’s Blog

  8. Pingback: 1973 ladies of the WI | Matthew Linley's Blog

Leave a Reply

