Jonathan Girling – Composer for Margaret Catchpole

In the first of a series of video interviews destined for the Eastern Angles facebook site I grabbed composer and music director Jonathan Girling. Jon has a pretty damm impressive CV – having worked previously with the Royal Shakespeare Company, Nottingham Playhouse, the CBSO and many others. He told me just why he was excited to be working with Eastern Angles for the first time.

‘I was born and bred in Felixstowe – lived there for 18 years of my life. So this is a bit of a homecoming. It’s the first time I’ve worked with a theatre in Suffolk. So for me this is a very special moment working with Eastern Angles and I do love the sea – it underpins a lot of the work that I’ve done with opera companies, with classical orchestras as well as in theatre. The connection with Felixstowe is important for me. Margaret Catchpole was the tale we were told when I was a kid – and so it’s just great to be involved in it it in a dramatic way.This is just a brilliant production to be involved in.

You can follow Jonathan on twitter (@jongirling) where he describes himself as into ‘theatre, media, dance, classical [music]. Obsessed with film, football, family and food’. No football or film in MC – though theres plenty of family and fair bit of food – no wonder then that Jon said..

‘It should be a roar – a racous, wonderful event’

More information about the show – and booking details can be found here.

Leave a Reply

