Starting with Eastern Angles

So its the start of my second week with Eastern Angles Theatre Company  .  The first wasn’t quite the roller coaster ride you usually get with a new role as – rather sneakily – I had spent a few days with the company throughout July and August. 

But I realise I’m getting ahead of myself here!

So the news is I’ve been offered, have accepted and indeed started as General Manager of Ipswich based Eastern Angles – (the regional touring theatre company for the East of England).    After a couple of years freelancing down here in the East  it’s a really exciting opportunity for me.

(Laura Harding in Eastern Angles recent production Up Out of the Sea by Andrew Holland)

And the more I’ve got stuck in the more excited I’ve got both about the role and the company!

Having cut my teeth running venues in Bath, Reading and Leicester its great to be walking back into an arts building every morning.  Walk through the theatre space at Sir John Mills Theatre (which is wonderfully reminiscent of 21 South Street) and I get that difficult to describe thrill.  Whats different – and whats new (for me) is joining a producing company.  So this Autumn the company are continuing to develop its new production for Spring (Private Resistance), producing two new shows in Peterborough (Crossed Keys by Greg Lyons and I heart Peterborough by Joel Horwood) and opening its Christmas show Round the Twist.  Thats no fewer than four new plays in the next six months!  And if that wasn’t enough the company are also starting work on Forty Years On – a major heritage lottery funded project for Peterborough. 

(Crossed Keys tours Peterborough from the 28 September through to the 22 October – more info here)

It’s been a fun few years freelancing – and after six years at Phoenix it certainly gave me the opportunity to recharge my creative batteries and work on  a whole host of projects.  Developing the Phrased & Confused festival tents at Summer Sundae, working with the hub, the PBQ consortium  and Dartington have been a few of many highlights. So  Interrogate at Dartington at the end of September will be the last of my major freelance projects!

I’ll still be keeping my hand in on a few things –including developing the next stage of Murray Lachlan Young’s Burlesque and retaining my directorship of P&C but right now a train to Ipswich is calling me!    If only I could work out how to collapse this fold up bike…..


 (the bike that refuses to collapse – now gets in the way of late Summer shut down stuff!)

One thought on “Starting with Eastern Angles

  1. Many congratulations – sounds like the perfect role and the perfect location.

    Skip the train – that Brompton should see you all the way through to Ipswich…

Leave a Reply

