Wheres Wally – well who was the Rev Greville Pope anyway

Despite being a passionate Yorkshire man, ever since going to Dartington in the early nineties I’ve had a fondness for the South West. Its a kind of second home – so no surprise that I was intrigued when over the weekend at WOMAD my mum revealed I had family connections down there.

Or at least thats what we think…

My Grandma’s uncle – the Rev Greville Pope – was either the rector or part of the team at St Peter’s in Cornworthy – not much more than a brief drive from Dartington and Totnes. My Gran spent all of her summer holidays at the vicarage with Greville and his wife Kate (nee Hollis) and not surprisingly they grew very close. Greville was blind – having had sand thrown into his eyes at the age of 3 and family folklore has it that he may have proposed to my Gran after the death of his first wife Kate.

I’d love to find out more about the intriguing Greville Pope so would welcome your comments!

Leave a Reply

